Lazy Sunday, Surprising Discovery

As far as I’m concerned, there are two types of Sundays.

1. The LET’S DO IT type
where you feel full of energy and can’t wait to get your checklist and/or wishlist all striked out. So you cycle, you go sightseeing, you do the exercise you saw on YouTube the other day, and you feel exhausted by the night, but hell yeah, it was one AWESOME Sunday!

2. The LET’S JUST STAY HERE TODAY type
where all you want to do is to sleep if you can, sit if you can, space out if you can, and/or do a TV/YouTube marathon.

It was type 2 for me yesterday and I spent some alone time in the room watching Lindsay Lohan’s “Just My Luck” and also “PS I Love You”.

Towards the end of the first said movie, I started to space out. You know, the kind of spacing out after the climax. But then I saw something that surprised me.

Vanderbilt Hall

Yes, the last closing scene for “Just My Luck” — VANDERBILT HALL. 

I am a huge fan of Anderson Cooper and I only knew about his mother, Gloria Vanderbilt because of how his good co-worker Kathy Griffin always bring her up.

And Kathy always boasts about The Anderson Cooper because he’s the son of The Gloria Vanderbilt but honestly, I never really understood what the big deal is. Maybe just that he’s kind of rich?

Yeah, but seeing that a hall has been named after their family (I even checked it up on Wikipedia!!), then did I understand why Kathy always make such a big deal of it. Shocker, for me.

Yes, I live in the mountains.

But that also means that I’m even more impressed by how relatively frugal Anderson is. Or maybe I’m just gullible for believing what he portrays on television. Either way, I’m happy!

Allow me to cut and paste the Wikipedia info for those who are interested to read a little more.

Vanderbilt Hall, named for the family that built and owned the station, serves as the entrance area from 42nd Street at Pershing Square.

The Vanderbilt family is an American family of Dutch origin that was prominent during the Gilded Age. Their success began with the shipping and railroad empires of Cornelius Vanderbilt, and the family expanded into various other areas of industry and philanthropy. Cornelius Vanderbilt’s descendants went on to build grand mansions on Fifth Avenue in New York City, luxurious “summer cottages” in Newport, Rhode Island, the palatialBiltmore House in North Carolina, and various other opulent homes.

Branches of the family are found on the United States East Coast. Contemporary descendants include fashion designer Gloria Vanderbilt, her youngest son, journalist Anderson Cooper, musicians Joey Page and John P. Hammond, female singer Consuelo Vanderbilt Costin and screenwriter James Vanderbilt.

Wow, just wow.

Leave a Reply

