#03012017 – Learning About Myself

Have you heard of the Jung’s and Briggs Myers’ theories of personality type? The 16 types including ESTJ, INFP and so on? I remember doing it in my poly days, and tried out the test again today.

intj

The analysis is dead accurate for the most part and I did learn more about myself.

I’ve always felt like I have my own “system” of doing things in life, and is altered only when I see a reason, but never because of authority. Speaking of which, yes I have no fear of authority when it comes to doing what I deem fit.

And it is also true, that I am bad at marketing myself. I am a perfectionist, and I know how much I know. One of my biggest fear is encountering topics I don’t know in social situations because I cannot talk my way out of it. Instead, I’d simply be honest and say… Oh I don’t know about that. Conversation Killer!

It’s official – Relationships ARE my Achilles heel

Personal relationships, particularly romantic ones, can be the INTJ’s Achilles heel. While they are capable of caring deeply for others (usually a select few), and are willing to spend a great deal of time and effort on a relationship, the knowledge and self-confidence that make them so successful in other areas can suddenly abandon or mislead them in interpersonal situations.

YES I HATE SMALL TALK. I dislike those cocktail parties where people are just standing around, talking about things that won’t matter 5 minutes later. I prefer sitting down with intelligent people and learning from what they say, taking in what’s going to make me improve 10 years down the road.

I’m horrible at understanding verbal cues. But world of non-verbal cues? FASCINATING.

Probably the strongest INTJ assets in the interpersonal area are their intuitive abilities and their willingness to “work at” a relationship. Although as Ts they do not always have the kind of natural empathy that many Fs do, the Intuitive function can often act as a good substitute by synthesizing the probable meanings behind such things as tone of voice, turn of phrase, and facial expression. This ability can then be honed and directed by consistent, repeated efforts to understand and support those they care about, and those relationships which ultimately do become established with an INTJ tend to be characterized by their robustness, stability, and good communications.

I’ve always known that I am some sort of “social handicap” – it takes me much longer to understand what people are saying versus what they really mean, but over time, I’ve developed my own system, choosing to read their non-verbal cues more than the verbal bits.

Interestingly, I think it helps me get over the verbal barrier and get better understanding of what’s going on. But then again, people who love small talk sometimes say they find it creepy/stressful, as people like us tend to “read” what they are hiding, instead of the rubbish they are speaking.

But getting the real message… is kind of a good thing, right?

Visual Memory and Systematic Learning

They are capable of highly accurate recollection of visual information that lacks logical flow, if it was received under intensely focused attention. For example, INTJs can reproduce many details of the rapidly changing scenery when driving in a car. This seems to be related to the fact that they are shutting off the reflection process when taking in the information.

This is SO true. Occasionally I find myself thinking… Eh they trimmed those trees. They chopped off that tree – and random discoveries like this during my travel journey. I’ve always found it entertaining, and now that I think of it, yeah, probably because I can shut off the reflection process while taking in the details!

INTJs have a high tolerance to high levels of learning related stress. However, they prefer to evenly distribute their efforts when learning new material, rather than resorting to last-minute cramming.

Back when I was studying in Wuhan, China, I remember staying cooped up in my room for the week glued to my chair, mugging for the examination with my roomie. It was incredibly enjoyable intensive and systematic studying for me and I didn’t really notice how long we’ve stayed in there until our opposite neighbour saw us one day.

“EH WHERE HAVE YOU GUYS BEEN? YOUR DOOR ALWAYS CLOSED AND SO QUIET.”

Eh we were studying like mad, literally.

sam_2998
(Top: The ready-made notes back then, to let people know where we were.)

Anyway, just to digress a little…

I’ve always thought about going to further my studies somewhere, somehow. Being back in a neutral environment with just a few friends and being able to focus on learning.

Studying in China was a humbling and insightful experience but that was my first long trip out of Singapore, and I felt like… We couldn’t help but do a lot of exploration. But as an adult now, if I have another chance, I’d really make full use of the time to study. I think that would be really awesome!!

Okay back to the topic of learning – another thing pointed out in the analysis is how I retain information better when you tell me its historical context, and how I hate when the learning material evokes strong emotions.

During one of our Asian Cinema lessons, our lecturer got us to watch an old classic Chinese film in which there were lots of Bruce Lee kind of fighting, and it was trendy to make those… blood spatter bags?

Then with every *kick* and *punch* they sort of BURST the bags and cause a literal bloody red scene. 

I shut down 10 minutes into the film. It was so pointlessly messy and gross, I couldn’t stand watching it! (._.”)

Anyway, the test was really insightful, humorously eye-opening and I think you should try it if you’re free! CLICK HERE TO BEGIN THE TEST. 

 

Leave a Reply

