#15012017 – Sometimes It’s Hard to Share

As mentioned previously, my eldest brother isn’t exactly the most efficient person when it comes to getting new clothes. And my mum, being my mum, decided to check out Decathlon at City Square Mall for him. 🙂

But first, BREAKFIRST. Uh, Breakfast. At Old Town.

20170115_ipoh-horfun-old-town-singapore

On our way up to the ground level, we were greeted by the Chinese New Year decor in the mall.

My first thought was to share this with a good friend of mine and so I snapped a picture. But in the end, I didn’t send it to him.

Why?

Sometimes It’s Better to Keep a Distance

We are good friends because we could talk about anything under the sky, without having to filter our words. But some time ago, I noticed that he became extremely sensitive, to both words and actions, the said and unsaid.

I understand that it’s because his life isn’t exactly easy at the moment but still.

I didn’t want to share negative things with him because it’d only add shit to shit. I didn’t feel comfortable sharing happy things because… What if he thinks he’s the only unlucky one? Would it seem like I’m gloating? =/

So in the end I thought… It’s better to keep a distance for now, sad as it may be. It’s better than saying the wrong things or worse, offending without realizing, which I seem to excel in.

20170115_121225

The trip to City Square Mall turned out to be a wild goose chase, so mum and I went back to the heartlands, bought what we were looking for and took a bus home when —

The Unique Funeral Procession

20170115_150353

There was a Chinese funeral procession next to our bus.

Funeral processions are common in Singapore, and I’m thankful that people are usually tolerant of the temporary obstruction. But usually I see the coffin in a van and the family members trailing behind. But in this case, they actually carried the coffin by hand for the final journey to his/her resting place.

I’ve never seen this before. Even after we alighted, I sat at the bus stop to capture the whole procession on video. Much respect for the crew for their great teamwork and organization skills!

Thinking about my funeral

That being said, I wouldn’t want that done for my funeral.

There is an emerging casket business in Singapore that truly pissed me off some time back. They brought in the culture from another country, and are overdramatic when it comes to the final ceremony.

Picture this – a group of crew at the void deck funeral dressed in business suits when the weather is so hot. During the final goodbye, the crew stand around holding little baskets, constantly offering to the people, and the other small basket for you to throw the used ones away.

Those, among a lot of over the top SOPs.

I would want my funeral to be kept simple, short and most importantly, clean.

I just want my most beloved ones to be around to say their final goodbyes and be free from the heartache after the funeral. As for acquaintances, those who really care can say their goodbyes on social media or just in their hearts. For the rest, if it didn’t matter enough to you to see me when I was alive, there’s no need to be present when I’m dead.

I need no flowers or music. Death should be peaceful and I want to have some peace to think about what’s next.

I don’t need no fanfare because births and deaths are just part and parcel of life.

Those fanfares are for the living, for the strangers. I’d rather leave the money to those who need it more than my dead body would need.

Maybe I’d think differently when I’m older. But for now, I would think that… I don’t want any loved ones suffering any further when I’m dead. I want to die hassle-free for those who live. 🙂

3 thoughts on “#15012017 – Sometimes It’s Hard to Share

    1. I agree with you. Had a few friends who led tough and lonely lives, and it was heartbreaking to see visitors assume that ‘he is so lucky’ judging solely based on the glamorous funeral his children paid for. If you are going to be nice, be nice when the person is alive!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

